AFOLU Steering Committee Members

Standing AFOLU Steering Committee Members

AFOLU Steering Committee members serve rotating terms. The following individuals currently serve on the AFOLU Steering Committee:

  • Toby Janson‐Smith (Chair), Verra (formerly Conservation International)
  • Edwin Aalders, DNV
  • Leslie Durschinger, Terra Global Capital
  • Bettina von Hagen, Ecotrust Forest Management (EFM)
  • Jeff Hayward, Rainforest Alliance
  • Ken Newcombe, C‐Quest Capital
  • Tim Pearson, Winrock International
  • Lucio Pedroni, Carbon Decisions International

Former AFOLU Steering Committee Members*:

  • Simon Dawes, Carbon Flow
  • Gonzalo Castro de la Mata, Ecosystem Services, LLC
  • Jennifer Haverkamp, George Washington University Law School
  • Wolfgang Ortloff, Equator, LLC
  • Keith Paustian, NREL, Colorado State University
  • Zoe Ryan, Fauna and Flora International
  • Marc Stuart, Allotrope Partners
  • Virgilio Viana, Amazonas Sustainable Foundation


The following individuals were the primary AFOLU contributors:

VCS AFOLU Advisory Group

  • Ken Newcombe, (VCS AFOLU AG Chair), C‐Quest Capital
  • Toby Janson-Smith, VCS AFOLU project lead  (formerly Conservation International)
  • Bernhard Schlamadinger, TerraCarbon, Austria
  • Tanja Havemann, Climate Change Capital, UK

Afforestation, Reforestation and Revegetation (ARR) Expert Group

  • Igino Emmer (lead author), Emmer Internationaal, The Netherlands
  • Neil Bird, Joanneum Research, Austria
  • Manuel Estrada, National Institute of Ecology, Mexico
  • Martin Schröder, TÜV SÜD, Germany
  • Frank Werner, Swiss Federal Institute of Technology, Switzerland

Agricultural Land Management (ALM) Expert Group

  • Keith Paustian (lead author), Colorado State University, USA
  • Henry Janzen, Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada, Canada
  • Daniel Martino, Carbosur, Uruguay
  • David Powlson, Rothamsted Research, UK
  • Mike Robinson, Syngenta, UK

Improved Forest Management (IFM) Expert Group

  • Sandra Brown (lead author), Winrock International, USA
  • Brian Murray, Duke University, USA
  • Timothy Pearson, Winrock International, USA
  • Brent Sohngen, Ohio State University, USA

Reduced Emissions from Deforestation and Degradation (REDD) Expert Group

  • Sandra Brown (co-lead author), Winrock International, USA
  • Lucio Pedroni (co-lead author), CATIE, Costa Rica
  • Manuel Estrada, National Institute of Ecology, Mexico
  • Charlotte Streck, Climate Focus, The Netherlands
  • Eveline Trines, Treeness Consult, The Netherlands
  • Xiaoquan Zhang, Chinese Academy of Forestry, People’s Republic of China

VCS AFOLU Consultants

  • Eveline Trines (developer of AFOLU methodological and risk tools), Treeness Consult, Netherlands
  • Amanda Hawn (general editor), Ecosystem Marketplace, USA
  • Michael Jenkins (program development), Forest Trends, USA
  • David Shoch (buffer financial analyst), The Nature Conservancy, USA

Independent Reviewers

  • Jüergen Blaser, Intercooperation, Switzerland
  • Benoît Bosquet, Carbon Finance Unit, World Bank, USA
  • Bruce Cabarle, WWF, USA
  • Phil Cottle, ForestRe, UK
  • Philip Fearnside, Instituto Nacional de Pesquisas da Amazônia (INPA), Brazil
  • Jan Fehse, EcoSecurities, UK
  • Till Neef, EcoSecurities, UK
  • Mitch Feierstein, Cheyne Capital, UK
  • Steven de Gryze, Terra Global Capital, USA
  • Radha Kuppali, New Forests, Australia
  • Marisa Meizlish, New Forests, Australia
  • Martin Schröder, TÜV SÜD, Germany
  • Joerg Seifert-Granzin, FAN, Bolivia
  • Bill Stanley, Zoe Kant, The Nature Conservancy, USA
  • Marc Steininger, Conservation International, USA
  • Marc Stuart, EcoSecurities, USA
  • Craig Trotter, Landcare Research, New Zealand
  • Martijn Wilder, Baker & McKenzie, Australia
  • Xiaoquan Zhang, Chinese Academy of Forestry, People’s Republic of China

*Indicates professional association at the time of serving in that role

The VCS AFOLU work is dedicated to Dr. Bernhard Schlamadinger, who passed away on 28 August 2008. A tireless champion for the world’s forests, Bernhard was instrumental in developing the VCS Program’s groundbreaking rules for Agriculture, Forestry and Other Land-Use Projects. The work of the expert committee was generously supported by the UK Department for International Development (DFID) and the Syngenta Foundation for Sustainable Agriculture

Other Programs

Photo: Paul Vincent

Verified Carbon Standard

The VCS Program is the world’s leading voluntary program for the certification of GHG emission reduction projects

Learn More >

Jurisdictional and Nested REDD+ (JNR)

Driving private investment in REDD+ at multiple scales

Learn More >

Sustainable Development Verified Impact Standard

The SD VISta Program The Sustainable Development Verified Impact Standard (SD VISta) is a flexible…

Learn More >